Skip Navigation

Opinions

Godly Wisdom is now the best entry point for Evangelism

Tue 14 March 2017

Godly Wisdom is now the best entry point for Evangelism

Author: Jonathan Holt

In the past, under the moniker of ‘Modernism’, a strong access point for Evangelism was ‘Truth’. Establishing ‘Truth’ was an important Modernist project, which spread into every area of life, including how people thought about the world. It is well known that we now live in some kind of ‘After-Modernism’ culture and the suggestion now is that Godly Wisdom may be a much better entry point for sharing the transformative news about Jesus.

 

A 60 second reflection Christmas 2016

Wed 28 December 2016

A 60 second reflection Christmas 2016

Author: Bishop Stuart Robinson

This time 30 years ago I jumped into a swimming pool fully clothed to rescue my son.
He was sinking fast.
An immediate, unhesitating response was called for.
Had I not so acted, we would have lost him, I reckon.
Christmas is when we celebrate God’s diving headlong into time and space, so to speak.

 

A Most Surprising Verse about Christmas

Tue 27 December 2016

A Most Surprising Verse about Christmas

Author: Jonathan Holt

Jesus makes jaws hit the floor with his astounding claim that honour and greatness come by serving. Servanthood, slaving for other’s sake, leads to the highest honour.

 

Being Christ's Body

Mon 19 September 2016

Being Christ's Body

Author: Bishop Stephen Pickard

In September 2015, the Synod of the Anglican Diocese of Canberra and Goulburn began a conversation about revisions proposed for the Marriage Act to include people in same-sex relationships. In September 2016, the Public Issues Commission released a set of resources to further develop the conversation.

 

Great Moral Challenge - Budget repair

Wed 31 August 2016

 Great Moral Challenge - Budget repair

Author: George Browning

The Prime Minister has made clear that the moral priority he believes the 45th parliament needs to address is ‘budget repair”. GEORGE BROWNING observes that such rhetoric fails to address the very serious and growing inequity that besets western democracies worldwide. The problem is not the poor taking too much, its the super-rich paying far too little and getting away with it.

 

Where are the blessed Peacemakers?

Mon 22 August 2016

Where are the blessed Peacemakers?

Author: Russell Rollason

National leaders talk much about making their nation's strong and prosperous. Yet many states appear weak and riven with conflict and insecurity. RUSSELL ROLLASON looks at how our world needs peacemakers more than ever before.

 

Finding our Voice with Indigenous Australia

Thu 4 August 2016

Finding our Voice with Indigenous Australia

Author: Archdeacon Karen Kime

Australia is a nation comprised of many peoples with many stories. Sadly, the stories of indigenous people are ones most easily overlooked because they are often the most uncomfortable and distressing. KAREN KIME explores the story of Aboriginal people, through their connection with country and how Australia's churches can help our nation reconnect with its past to develop a future that includes everyone.

 

What is at stake in Palestine and Israel today?

Mon 25 July 2016

What is at stake in Palestine and Israel today?

Author: Helen Rainger

Ghada Karmi, Palestinian writer and activist, visited Canberra last year as part of a speaking tour in which she spoke about her recent book "The Return" as well as giving more general insights about Palestine and Israel. HELEN RAINGER was fortunate to meet Ghada and speak with her during the visit.

 

Refugee Week - a personal reflection

Mon 20 June 2016

Refugee Week - a personal reflection

Author: Charles Body

Refugee Week is being commemorated from 19 to 25 June 2016 so it is timely to reflect on how Australia’s policies towards refugees and asylum seekers measure up to the God’s standards. CHARLES BODY reflects on the morality of government policy.

 

Reviving an Order of Preachers

Mon 6 June 2016

Reviving an Order of Preachers

Author: Jonathan Holt

How do you develop preachers? JONATHAN HOLT examines this question by looking back at the example of Dominic for answers today.

 

A Hybrid Divinity - From the Canon Theologian

Fri 27 May 2016

A Hybrid Divinity - From the Canon Theologian

Author: Scott Cowdell

Professor Scott Cowdell shares his Trinity Sunday Sermon from All Saints’, Ainslie…

 

Panama Papers: A new opportunity to end the inequality crisis?

Wed 11 May 2016

Panama Papers: A new opportunity to end the inequality crisis?

Author: Russell Rollason

if you haven't been scandalised by the release of the Panama Papers - you really haven't been paying attention. RUSSELL ROLLASON explores the papers growing significance at a time when the poor face growing austerity while the super-wealthy avoid more than taxation.

 

How Global Problems That Feel Overwhelming Could Actually Be Solvable

Tue 12 April 2016

How Global Problems That Feel Overwhelming Could Actually Be Solvable

Author: Guest2

The world today faces some daunting challenges: climate change, gender inequality, food scarcity. And the problems are so widespread, what can one individual honestly do about them?

 

Comfort from God in infertility and pregnancy loss

Wed 16 March 2016

Comfort from God in infertility and pregnancy loss

Author: Anna Boxwell

Sometimes it can seem like everyone is having babies. Everyone, that is, except you. If that’s you, you might be thinking to yourself, this isn’t how I imagined my life turning out. ANNA BOXWELL writes about the challenges we face when our hopes to have children go awry.

 

Celebrating International Women's Day

Fri 11 March 2016

Celebrating International Women's Day

Author: Jeremy Halcrow

International Women's Day came and went with barely a ripple raised in the church. The day started in 1909 as part of the campaign for better pay and voting rights in the US. Today, it a chance to celebrate the progress made for women's social, economic and political advancement. JEREMY HALCROW writes about the commitment Anglicare makes towards equality.

 

Lent: Fasting…And Carbon Fasting

Fri 12 February 2016

Lent: Fasting…And Carbon Fasting

Author: Gillian King

What do you do during Lent, the 40 days leading up to Easter? For Christians, Lent is the time to remember the 40 days that Jesus spent in the wilderness, facing challenge and temptation. GILLIAN KING asks, what might Christians do in a post-modern world?

 

Disciples Grow

Fri 12 February 2016

Disciples Grow

Author: Jonathan Holt

Discipleship has become a buzz word in the church today. What do we mean by it? JONATHAN HOLT contends that disciples are meant to grow.

 

Advent Hope for a Sustainable Future

Tue 8 December 2015

Advent Hope for a Sustainable Future

Author: Russell Rollason

As we enter the season of Advent we look forward in hope to the incarnation, when God takes human form and enters the world to ‘make all things new’. RUSSELL ROLLASON asks, can we equally look forward in hope for a world in which our grandchildren and their children might enjoy the rich bio-diversity of God’s creation, snorkel in coral reefs and enjoy predictable and reasonable weather?

 

Advent and nativity plays - what are you doing this year?

Tue 24 November 2015

Advent and nativity plays - what are you doing this year?

Author: Lara Sweeney

Advent and nativity plays go hand in hand in December. To take the stress out of this event, LARA SWEENEY reviews a new book by Jane Gillion, The No Rehersal Nativity.

 

Paris - rediscovering the roots of liberty, equality and fraternity

Fri 20 November 2015

Paris - rediscovering the roots of liberty, equality and fraternity

Author: Russell Rollason

The brutality and horror of the conflict in Syria and neighbouring countries has been brought home sharply by the events in Paris over the past few days. Beyond the grief and outrage, RUSSELL ROLLASON explores some other ways in which Christians can respond.

 

From the Canon Theologian - The 'Darwin of the Human Sciences': Rene Girard, a Theological Retrospective

Thu 5 November 2015

From the Canon Theologian - The 'Darwin of the Human Sciences': Rene Girard, a Theological Retrospective

Author: Scott Cowdell

News came in overnight from his home in Stanford, California, that the French-American thinker Rene Girard, 91, had died peacefully in his sleep. SCOTT COWDELL reviews Girard's life, work and significance for theologians.

 

Anglican link to Blue Celebration

Mon 2 November 2015

Anglican link to Blue Celebration

Author: Russell Rollason

When 150 iconic buildings around the world went blue last Saturday to celebrate the United Nations there was a connection to St John’s Canberra that many may not realise. RUSSELL ROLLASON examines the importance of this global body.

 

Halloween – should we be excited or anxious?

Tue 27 October 2015

Halloween – should we be excited or anxious?

Author: Wayne Brighton

Halloween (31 October) is around the corner. Should Christian parents be anxious about celebrating a day that seems contrary to their faith? WAYNE BRIGHTON reflects on the day's significance to his family and neighbourhood.

 

Two Cheers for the Parish - from the Canon Theologian

Wed 21 October 2015

Two Cheers for the Parish - from the Canon Theologian

Author: Scott Cowdell

The parish congregation as we know it is in trouble. SCOTT COWDELL reflects on the challenges confronting us and the solutions that have emerged, neither of which are particular satisfying or effective. He suggests a way forward that is difficult and rarely tried - discovering and loving each other.

 

Joining In Great Leadership On Climate Change

Fri 28 August 2015

Joining In Great Leadership On Climate Change

Author: Gillian King

Momentum is building in the lead-up to the UN climate talks in Paris that begin on 30 November 2015 and are crucial to our future. What – and who – will cause the tipping point that will lead to the bold decisions we need being taken before it is too late?

 

Are we a nation is search of its Soul?

Fri 28 August 2015

Are we a nation is search of its Soul?

Author: Russell Rollason

What is at stake in efforts to build reconciliation between Australia's settler and indigenous peoples? Is it just about living standards or is there something deeper involved? RUSSELL ROLLASON explores the spiritual dimension of this vexed national issue.

 

What Heresy did Adam Goodes Commit against Australia's Secular Religion?

Tue 11 August 2015

What Heresy did Adam Goodes Commit against Australia's Secular Religion?

Author: Scott Cowdell

The Adam Goodes controversy reveals a great deal about modern society, and especially about the role of sport as a substitute religion for secular times.

 

What Does Religion Have To Do With Living Sustainably?

Fri 26 June 2015

What Does Religion Have To Do With Living Sustainably?

Author: Gillian King

Why are we seeing so much religious leadership on climate change and caring for the Earth at the moment? Why is there so much talk about the encyclical Laudato Si' that Pope Francis has just released?

 

Reconciliation in Action: Supporting Indigenous Australians

Sat 23 May 2015

Reconciliation in Action: Supporting Indigenous Australians

Author: Archdeacon Karen Kime

In Wagga Wagga an amazing program has been operating for several years, called `Aunty Jeans’. It is a program that supports the heritage, health and wellbeing of older Aboriginal people.

 

What is a disciple?

Wed 6 May 2015

What is a disciple?

Author: Anna Boxwell

Are we moving towards God or further away? Are we praying, learning and reading Scripture by ourselves or are we doing it together? ALISON MORGAN, keynote speaker at the Cathedral convention, grapples with these questions in her new book, Following Jesus.

 

Nepal Earthquake

Thu 30 April 2015

Nepal Earthquake

Author: Guest2

Nepal's disaster has destroyed one of the poorest countries in the world. Graham Morrison reflects on the disaster and the work of the International Nepal Fellowship.

 

Going Over the Top: Sacrifice, Stoicism and Christian Faith at Gallipoli

Mon 27 April 2015

Going Over the Top: Sacrifice, Stoicism and Christian Faith at Gallipoli

Author: Bishop Stephen Pickard

BISHOP STEPHEN PICKARD considers how Christians have reflected theologically on the experience of war generally and the Gallipoli experience in particular.

 

Comforting words from our Saviour

Fri 10 April 2015

Comforting words from our Saviour

Author: Jonathan Holt

When was the last time you listened to the Holy Communion Service from the Book of Common Prayer? JONATHAN HOLT reflects on four words of comfort that we pass over too easily today.

 

Church and sport – poles apart or peas in a pod?

Fri 10 April 2015

Church and sport – poles apart or peas in a pod?

Author: Wayne Brighton

At first blush, church and sport seem to have little to do with the other. WAYNE BRIGHTON reflects on how the soil of sport colours our churches and how our churches talk the same language that captures the hearts of fans everywhere.

 

Remote Communities and the Right to Decide

Fri 13 March 2015

Remote Communities and the Right to Decide

Author: Archdeacon Karen Kime

The Western Australian government has proposed to close 150 remote Indigenous communities because they are considered to be 'uneconomic.' KAREN KIME explains the significance of Country and why identity is not a 'lifestyle' choice.

 

Competitive Scapegoating: the case of two nations and two condemned men

Wed 11 March 2015

 Competitive Scapegoating: the case of two nations and two condemned men

Author: Scott Cowdell

What is going on with the case of Andrew Chan and Myuran Sukumaran? FR SCOTT COWDELL reflects on the impending death of two reformed drug smugglers and the addiction to punishment rather than reform.

 

Pray and Fast for the Climate

Tue 3 March 2015

Pray and Fast for the Climate

Author: Pamela Phillips

Climate change is not simply an environmental or economic issue but a moral and spiritual one also. PAMELA PHILLIPS examines how the spiritual discipline of fasting is being applied by many around the globe.

 

The Best Kind of Excellence

Mon 2 March 2015

The Best Kind of Excellence

Author: Jonathan Holt

Does God want excellence from us in how we conduct our worship? JONATHAN HOLT explores this question as he reflects on his experience and the story of Hezekiah as he prepares and leads worship in the Lanyon Valley.

 

The opportunity of Ash Wednesday

Thu 19 February 2015

The opportunity of Ash Wednesday

Author: Wayne Brighton

Ash Wednesday is an opportunity for Christians all over the world to begin a pilgrimage that recalls Jesus’ journey into the heart of darkness and beyond. WAYNE BRIGHTON examines the relevance of this ritual for today.

 

Conspiracy Theories—From the Canon Theologian

Mon 16 February 2015

Conspiracy Theories—From the Canon Theologian

Author: Scott Cowdell

Professor Scott Cowdell helps us understand today’s plague of conspiracy theorists and their debunkers. Can the truth still set us free?

 

Prayer Book Revision begins in Australia

Thu 5 February 2015

Prayer Book Revision begins in Australia

Author: Brian Douglas

Anglicans are prayer book kind of people but not many are aware how andwhy this vital piece of worship changed and developed during the 20th Century.
BRIAN DOUGLAS explores the turbulent path of liturgical revision.

 

A blueprint for change?

Thu 22 January 2015

A blueprint for change?

Author: Wayne Brighton

Next month, the Church of England’s General Synod will consider two very surprising papers. The first is the Archbishops’ vision for change and the second is a manifesto about discipleship. As Australian Anglicans return from their annual beachside holidays, we would do well to ask, what are our church leaders doing about this problem?

 

Our new year needs love

Mon 19 January 2015

Our new year needs love

Author: Jeremy Halcrow

One important value at Anglicare, is that we offer loving service, care and support to all people regardless of their faith (or none).

Reflecting on the recent terrible tragedy in Paris, it felt appropriate to want to stand in solidarity with the victims of such barbarism. However on deeper reflection I concluded that I could not honestly say Je Suis Charlie.

 

Light in Darkness - from the Canon Theologian…

Wed 24 December 2014

Light in Darkness - from the Canon Theologian…

Author: Scott Cowdell

Professor SCOTT COWDELL shares his All Saints’, Ainslie, Christmas Sermon, believing that we all need a bit of good news right now…

 

New Year's Day - more schmaltz or an opportunity for retrospection?

Wed 17 December 2014

New Year's Day - more schmaltz or an opportunity for retrospection?

Author: Wayne Brighton

As New Year approaches, retrospective schmaltz will fill our TV screens and newspapers. Will we make hollow promises or earnestly engage in retrospection? WAYNE BRIGHTON explores how three Anglican churches have reviewed their life in order to awaken a new future.

 

iPhones and social wellbeing

Tue 9 December 2014

iPhones and social wellbeing

Author: Pamela Phillips

Christmas has arrived and with it the push to spend, spend, spend. While it might be good for the economy, is it good for our overall wellbeing, especially in view of a changing climate? PAMELA PHILLIPS explores how Christmas, scientific realities and commercial imperatives collide.

 

Ending, but not finishing

Mon 24 November 2014

Ending, but not finishing

Author: Jonathan Holt

One important but often overlooked group in ministry is Parish Council. It's easy to serve on a council without necessarily seeing the bigger picture. JONATHAN HOLT reflects on how we can welcome and farewell those who put their gifts to use in this way.

 

Faith and a changing environment

Tue 18 November 2014

Faith and a changing environment

Author: Bishop Stephen Pickard

In the lead up to the recently completed G20 meeting, leaders from a broad range of faith traditions spoke to the media about their how their members are concerned about need for more concerted action to address global warming. Bishop STEPHEN PICKARD called for the promotion of investment in renewable energy and an end to fossil fuel subsidies.

 

All Souls’ Day - From the Canon Theologian

Tue 4 November 2014

All Souls’ Day - From the Canon Theologian

Author: Scott Cowdell

Professor Scott Cowdell shares his sermon at the annual Choral Requiem Mass for All Souls’ Day, held at All Saints’, Ainslie—an occasion well-attended by the bereaved.

 

Who’s the Threat? From the Canon Theologian

Mon 13 October 2014

Who’s the Threat? From the Canon Theologian

Author: Scott Cowdell

Professor SCOTT COWDELL identifies the blind spot in Australia’s heightened state of security.

 

1   2   3   4   next »

Latest Positions Vacant

  • School Chaplain - Canberrra Girls Grammar School

    Canberra Girls Grammar School (CGGS) is currently seeking applications for the position of School Chaplain. This is a full-time, ongoing position to commence as soon as possible. The Chaplain is responsible to the Principal for the development of the spiritual and pastoral life of the School.

    CGGS is an independent Anglican school founded in 1926, with a current enrolment of approximately 1600 students across an Early Learning Centre (ELC), Junior School and a Senior School.

    The successful applicant will be an ordained Anglican priest and have experience teaching in a school.

    Strong pastoral skills and an understanding of the developmental character and needs of children and adolescents are essential.

  • Senior Desktop Technician

    Canberra or Goulburn

    Anglican Diocesan Services (ADS) is the principal provider of HR services to the Anglican Diocese of Canberra & Goulburn, encompassing the Property Trust, Parishes, Anglican Investment Development Fund, Synergy Youth, Anglicare Campsites and Anglicare NSW South, NSW West & ACT.

    ADS is looking for the right person to fill the role of Senior Desktop Technician. The successful applicant will be one of a team of motivated IT specialists providing a broad range of services to its clients. This role can be based in the ACT or Goulburn NSW.

  • Positions in the Diocese of Rockhampton

    The Diocese of Rockhampton in Central Queensland, Australia, offers exciting opportunities for ministry.

    Covering an area of 800,000 square kilometres from tiny outback communities, mining towns and regional centres we are looking to the future confident in God’s plan for the church in this region.

    We are embarking on a Mission Action Plan seeking to train and resource people for mission and ministry and are looking for expressions of interest from women and men who are confident in their faith, gifted in managing change and excited by the challenge of serving God in Central Queensland.

  • Anglicare positions

    Anglicare is recruiting for a wide variety of positions including:

    CASE MANAGEMENT COORDINATOR
    Club 12/25 - Full-time, Fixed Term Contract

    CASE MANAGER
    St Saviours – Sydney (Liverpool)
    Full-time / Fixed Term for 3-6 months

    ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER
    Orange
    Full-time Fixed Term
    (12 months with possible extension)

    YOUTH WORKERS
    Foster Care Bega
    Casual Staff Required

Our Partner dioceses

Starting Mission Shaped Churches